Thursday, November 6, 2014

Armaggedon, TX

By Jeff Simpson

My friend and Fraternity brother(Sigma Chi) Tommy Zurhellen, just released the third book in his Messiah trilogy.   Its great reading and highly recommended

In the era where its hard for the little guy to get noticed and promoted, word of mouth needs to take over. 

Go to your favorite book store and ask for the trilogy by name

1.  Nazareth, North Dakota

Nazareth, North Dakota by Tommy Zurhellen
2.  Apostle Islands


3. Finally the finale - Armaggedon, Texas

 Creative writing professor Tommy Zurhellen’s new novel, Armageddon, Texas, debuts today from Atticus Books. It is the much-anticipated final chapter in the award-winning Messiah Trilogy, a retelling of the New Testament accounts of Jesus, but set in the North Dakota badlands and upper Midwest beginning in the 1980s.

Armageddon, Texas takes place after the world has ended with the Second Coming, on the dusty plains of what was once known as west Texas. The story is told from multiple viewpoints, including a dying hero, a dog, and a young boy who believes he is the last child left on Earth.
"I took inspiration from the Bible, but also from the poem Beowulf this time," Zurhellen says. "This is the last chapter of the trilogy, but I think every ending sparks a beginning of some kind, and this final book definitely reflects that. If you liked the twists and surprises in the first two books, then you’ll love this new installment."

The first two books in Zurhellen’s trilogy, Nazareth, North Dakota (2011) and Apostle Islands (2012) have both received gold medals for fiction at the Independent Publishers Awards (IPPYs) in New York City. "We’re hoping for a third medal for Armageddon, Texas at the next IPPY awards this spring, to complete the sweep," Zurhellen said. "That would be unprecedented for fiction."

Ask for it by name, read the books and let me know what you think!

No comments:

Post a Comment