Thursday, April 17, 2014

Emerge Wisconsin Women Make History

Big news for Emerge Wisconsin members from Dane County:
Sharon Corrigan is making history as the newly elected chair of the Dane County Board. Only one other woman -- Mary Louise Symon -- has held the post, serving from 1974 to 1980.

Corrigan was elected chair by her colleagues Tuesday at a noontime meeting of the board. The reelection of vice chair Carousel Bayrd made for another first -- this will be the only time women have occupied both top leadership posts on the board.
Corrigan is a member of the Emerge Wisconsin Board. Bayrd is an Emerge WI alumna (Class of 2009) and is currently the Vice-Chair of the Emerge Wisconsin Board.

And also in the news is the fact that Emerge WI alumna Kelly Westlund (Class of 2011), the first Emerge WI alumna to run for a federal seat as she takes on Sean Duffy in the 7th CD, was put "On the List" by EMILY's List.

As a fun fact, the two other women that were mention in the press release, Rocky Lara and Shenna Bellows are also Emerge alumnae, from New Mexico and Maine, respectively.

For full disclosure, I work for Emerge Wisconsin and couldn't be prouder of that fact.

No comments:

Post a Comment