Wednesday, February 8, 2012

Tell Obama To Nominate New FEC Commissioners

Tired of our government being controlled by Big Business? Do you want a government that is truly of the people, by the people and for the people?

Then sign this online petition telling President Barack Obama to nominate new commissioners to the Federal Election Commission:
We expect candidates for federal office to follow our campaign finance laws, but the FEC – the agency charged with enforcing those laws – is completely dysfunctional.

Three of the six commissioners staunchly refuse to enforce the law and five of the six are serving despite expired terms.

Prior to your election, you professed support for campaign finance reform. We agree with you that the Citizens United Supreme Court decision was disastrous and the failure of Congress to require disclosure of campaign-related spending was outrageous. Nevertheless, you have failed to appoint new commissioners who actually would enforce such laws.

To restore some faith into the democratic process, we urge you to nominate new commissioners to the FEC prior to the 2012 elections.


  1. This is so important, I have signed and hope your readers will too.

  2. So they are kind of like Wisconsins GAB then right?

  3. Thank you Capper and thanks to your readers who signed, the goal was achieved.

    The Federal Election Commission is made up of six members, who are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. By law, no more than three Commissioners can be members of the same political party, and at least four votes are required for any official Commission action.

    Each member serves a six-year term. Appointments are staggered with two members being replaced every odd numbered year. Chairmanship of the Commission changes each year, no member may serve as Chairman more than once during his or her term.

    Current members:
    Chair: Caroline Hunter(R) - term expires 04/13
    Ellen Weintraub (D} - term expired 04/07
    Cynthia Bauerly (D) - term expired 04/11
    Donald McGahan (R) - term expired 04/09
    Mathew Peterson (R) - term expired 04/11